Subscribe to our Newsletter:
Healthy Diet Plans  >>  Questions Asked  >>  Diet

Lactose Intolerance Diet

Is it possible to consume dairy foods even if I am sensitive to milk?
(July 27, 2010)

Being lactose intolerant or even being allergic to dairy products does mean that you will have to give up foods which aggravate your condition. Although the two problems are sometimes confused, they are very different and have little in common. A milk allergy is a food allergy - it is an adverse reaction to a food protein while lactose intolerance stems from a lack of production of the lactase enzyme. It is important that you find out exactly what you are suffering from. There are serious health problems that may crop up if you are misdiagnosed or undiagnosed.

Most people who are lactose intolerant either give up dairy products or are on medication while they continue to eat these products. The only and best treatment if you are sensitive to milk is to avoid it completely.

Do remember that avoiding dairy products goes beyond just giving up milk. Keep in mind that the following products will also have to be avoided-

  • Baked items
  • Ice cream
  • Cheese
  • Some breads
  • Cream sauces
  • Almost all flavors of chips
  • Butter and most margarines
  • Most kinds of chocolate(be sure to read the list of ingredients carefully, dark chocolate also falls under this category)
  • Mustard, mayonnaise
  • Canned chicken soup - may sometimes contain whey
  • Turkey and chicken (these are sometimes injected with butter)
  • Products made with goat’s milk
Check for symbols on products. Dairy is usually denoted by “D”.

However, there are delicious lactose intolerance alternatives if you do have to exclude all dairy products. Visit organic food stores in your neighborhood - you are sure to find yummy alternatives there. Try out whole wheat bread if you cannot do without your daily slice at breakfast. Other options include soy milk, almond, rice or oat milk. Snack on plain taco chips with a salsa or hummus dip or even have fast food once in a while. It is safer than dining in a restaurant where curries or sauces may contain dairy products. Look for food which has “vegan” (none of the ingredients are from animals) or ‘pareve’ or ‘parve’ (does not contain meat or dairy products) marked on it. Do make sure you are getting enough calcium - try calcium enriched orange juices.

Keep the above in mind and you will be able to lead a healthy life and also enjoy most of the good food too!
Submitted by S M on July 27, 2010 at 02:35


Read more questions in Diet
Log In Here Close